Western Cape
  • Search residential property in this area
Western Cape

Western Cape Property - Western Cape

The Western Cape is made up of Cape Town, the West Coast, the Breede River Valley, the Winelands, the Central Karoo, the Klein Karoo, the Overberg and the Garden Route.

The cosmopolitan city of Cape Town is the capital of the Western Cape and the city through which most visitors enter the province.

Stellenbosch, Paarl, Franschhoek, Worcester and Robertson are the major towns of the Winelands region. Stellenbosch is a beautiful university town with many stunning examples of Cape Dutch architecture. The wine estates of the region attract both wine lovers and tourists.

The Western Cape is topographically and climatically varied. It has a temperate southern coastline fringed with mountains. Here the typical vegetation, especially in the western section, is the famed fynbos. To the north it stretches deep into the Karoo plateau. The western coast is extremely dry.

The winter rainfall of the peninsula and its mountainous neighbouring inland area provides ideal conditions for the cultivation of grapes, with numerous vineyards producing excellent wines. Other fruit and vegetables are also grown here, and north and east of Cape Town wheat is an important crop.

The southern coastal area is also fertile. Fishing is the most important industry along the west coast.

The southern coastline's major centres include Mossel Bay, George and Knysna, all of which benefit from the tourist attraction of a beautiful coastal strip that includes a lake area. This southern coast has year-round rainfall.

Western Cape, South Africa

Cape Peninsula
Garden Route
West Coast

Gauteng, South Africa

Gauteng Province
join seeff